Monday Percolator – 27 February

Links this week!

9 Ways to Get Rid of All the Crap in Your Life That’s Holding You Back on Lifehack.org: Great reminder that sometimes we create our own fuss. I particularly like the one about going back to pen and paper. A few of my friends are starting to realize the benefits of notebooks and paper calendars. Which one appeals to you most on this list?

10 Powerful Writing Tips for Freelancers on Know Empower Network: Great set of handy-dandy tips for those of us needing the reminder. I think it works for pretty much anyone who writes, not just freelancers.

Why We Don’t Always Tell the Truth on HBR: So we don’t always disclose the entire story. This article goes into why that might be. What do you think of truth-telling in organizations?

Are Funny People More Successful in Business? on Forbes: A great article outlining the psychological effects of well-executed, non-offensive humour in the workplace. I can certainly say that my funnier coworkers were definitely more fun to work with, especially on terrible days where nothing works out!

How To Stay Motivated When You Feel Like Giving Up on Everyday Bright: Love Jen’s posts as usual. This one really clicked, because I hit the big 3-0 this year and I love the bit about resetting my potential. I hope I can be brave enough to do it!

Instant Artist Statement Generator on Artsybollocks.com: One of my friends posted this up this morning, and it’s essentially an artist statement generator. If you are an artist or have worked with them, you’ll probably know a little bit about the head-banging that goes on when an artist statement needs to be written. Lucky for us, now it’s done!

My New Web Presence on About.Me: Look! I have new web presence, thanks to about.me! I’m pretty proud of this page. It was a bit of a challenge – as always is – to write about myself, but I somehow stumbled through it. ┬áCheck it out :)

4 thoughts on “Monday Percolator – 27 February

  1. As always, an excellent list of articles and posts to read. Thanks for sharing. The first link and the fifth one are particularly poignant and relevant to me right now.

    Oh, and I love the About.Me profile! The photo is stunning, too. Congrats.

Leave a Reply

