A Perspective on Roots

Current Mood:  Dying from allergies

Current Song: Clocks by Coldplay

I’ve always been a bit of a nomad.  My youth years were spent being buffeted from one city to another – new homes, new schools, new friends.  It was a constant back-and-forth.  I wished more than anything to be in one place; to be somewhere where the landscape remained the same every year.  Where predictability was the order of the day.

Oh then came the teenage years.  How I wished to get the hell outta town.  I think to some degree the unchanged landscape started to hold me in place and I tried to struggle free of it.  Vancouver (I’m sorry to say) became my ball and chain.


Photo Credit: Creative Commons

Lately though, I have had a change of heart.  Not entirely of course, because curiosity will always make me want to look and see what’s on the other side of the fence.  But the rut has now become a set of roots.  I am acutely aware of the fact that I have more invested here emotionally than I first imagined I would.

I suppose it’s all about perspective.  Are you stuck or exactly where you should be?  Who knew I’d start having a change of heart?

NB: This does not mean that if I got a kick-ass job in a favourite city that I wouldn’t pack up, so don’t get all uppity about it!

Leave a Reply

